Sign In


Latest News
Abuja Is In What Geopolitical Zone?

Abuja Is In What Geopolitical Zone?

In Nigeria, states are grouped into what is called geopolitical zones. This grouping was created during the administration of president Sani Abacha. These zones were created so that the political, economic, and educational resources can be distributed fairly among the states in Nigeria.

There are 6 geopolitical zones in Nigeria. This division is not entirely based on the geographic locations of the states in Nigeria, the division is also based on similarity among ethnic groups and political history. The purpose for all that was because the government wanted to effectively allocate resources.

The Geopolitical Zones In Nigeria

geopolitical zones

I will be listing the zones below and the states that can be found within each zone.

North Central Zone

The North Central zone consists of 11% of Nigeria’s population. That is roughly 20 million people.

This zone consists of the following states:

  • Benue
  • Kogi
  • Kwara
  • Nasarawa
  • Niger
  • Plateau
  • Abuja

North West Zone

Culturally, the North West zone falls in Hausaland where you will find the Hausa people. They are the most prominent ethnic group in this zone.

This zone consists of the following states:

  • Jigawa
  • Kaduna
  • Kano
  • Katsina
  • Kebbi
  • Sokoto
  • Zamfara

South South Zone

The South South zone is a major contributor to the Nigerian economy because of the vast natural gas and oil reserves in this region. This zone makes up around 12% of Nigeria’s population which is about 26 million people.

The states in this zone consists of the following:

  • Akwa Ibom
  • Bayelsa
  • Cross River
  • Delta
  • Edo
  • Rivers State

North East Zone

The North East zone makes up about 12% of Nigeria’s population. The most populous cities in this zone are Maiduguri and Bauchi.

The following states are in the North East zone:

  • Adamawa
  • Bauchi
  • Borno
  • Gombe
  • Taraba
  • Yobe

South East Zone

The South East zone creates a significant impact on Nigeria’s economy because of its industrialized economy. This zone consists primarily of the Igbo people. They make up 90% of the population in the southeastern zone.

The following states are in the South East zone:

  • Abia
  • Anambra
  • Ebonyi
  • Enugu
  • Imo

South West Zone

The South West zone consists majorly of the Yoruba people, Lagos being the most populous city in the zone. This zone makes up 22% of Nigeria’s population, which is about 47 million people.

The South West zone has the following states:

  • Ekiti
  • Lagos
  • Ogun
  • Ondo
  • Osun
  • Oyo

So Abuja Is In What Geopolitical Zone?

As you have probably seen from the list above, Abuja is in the North Central Zone.

Did you enjoy this article? Leave a feedback in the comment section down below and also check out why the Capital City relocated to Abuja from Lagos.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

sixteen − 1 =

Compare Listings

Title Price Status Type Area Purpose Bedrooms Bathrooms