Sign In

The Federal Ministry of Labour and Employment is one of the oldest Ministries in Nigeria. It began as a Department of Labour in the then Colonial office in 1932 and developed into a full-fledged Ministry in 1952. The functions and responsibilities of the Ministry are captured on the Exclusive Legislative List, under Section 169, item 34, Second Schedule of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended.
The Ministry is structured into six Zonal labour offices, Fourteen Departments consisting of seven Professional and seven Service Departments. It operates through 36 State Labour Offices and the FCT, 23 District Labour Offices and the Labour Desk Office, Geneva, Switzerland. Recently nine (9) Labour Desks were approved for nine Ministries, Department and Agencies. In addition, it oversees Five (5) Parastatals and relates with several national and international Bodies and Organizations.

Departments of the Ministry

  • Inspectorate
  • Employment and wages
  • Trade Unions Services and Industrial Relations
  • Productivity Measurement and standards
  • Social Security and Cooperatives Development
  • Skills Development and Certification
  • Occupational Safety and Health
  • Policy Analysis Research and Statistics
  • Human Resources
  • Finance and Accounts
  • Special Duties and projects
  • General Services
  • Reform Coordination and Service Improvement
  • Procurement


  • National Directorate of Employment (NDE)
  • National Productivity Centre (NPC)
  • Michael Imoudu National Institute for Labour Studies (MINILS)
  • Nigeria Social Insurance Trust Fund (NSITF)
  • Industrial Arbitration Panel (IAP).


Sen. Dr. Chris Nwabueze Ngige

Honourable Minister

Festus Egwarewa Keyamo, SAN

Honourable Minister of State

Visits: 16




Add Review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Value for Money

1 × 1 =

Search Listings

Added By Ephraim Edeh


Find New Spots, Meet New People, Have fun and see Abuja City through us.