Sign In

MINISTRY OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS ABUJA was created in 1961, with Prime Minister Tafawa Balewa appointing Jaja Wachuku the inaugural Minister of Foreign Affairs and Commonwealth Relations. Before Wachuku’s tenure, Balewa had doubled as Foreign Affairs advocate of Nigeria, from 1960 to 1961.

The Nigerian foreign ministry is a statutory body created to re-inforce foreign decision making and implementation processes in Nigeria[1] and handle the external promotion of Nigeria’s domestic vision and ideals; it is headed by a federal executive cabinet minister. As of late its mission has geared towards increasing awareness about Nigeria’s economic potential. It is part of the government’s executive branch.


H. E. Geoffrey Onyeama

Honourable Minister

The Honourable Minister of Foreign Affairs, His Excellency, Geoffrey Onyeama was born in Enugu on February 2nd, 1956. He holds a Bachelor of Arts (B.A) degree in Political Science from Columbia University, New York in 1977 and a Bachelor of Arts (B.A) degree in Law from St John’s College,

In November 2015 he was appointed Nigeria’s Minister of Foreign Affairs by President Muhammadu Buhari and served in that capacity till May 2019.
His Excellency, Geoffrey Onyeama was reappointed Minister of Foreign Affairs on Wednesday 21st August, 2019.

Foreign Policy

  • Promotion and protection of Nigeria’s national interests;
  • Representing and protecting the interests of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Nigerian citizens, and legal entities abroad;
  • Promotion of African integration and support for African unity;
  • Promotion of international cooperation for the consolidation of universal peace and mutual respect among nations and elimination of discrimination in all its manifestation;
  • Respect for international law and treaty l as seeking settlement of the internal dispute by negotiation, mediation, conciliations, arbitration, and adjudication; and
  • Promotion of a just world economic order.


  • Protocol : The Protocol Department coordinates, processes and facilitates official communications between Nigeria and the diplomatic/international communities.
  • Planning Research and Statistics : The Department of Planning, Research and Statistics (PRS) is the think tank of the Ministry and one of the three service Departments
  • Foreign Service Inspectorate : Foreign Service Inspection Division, SERVICOM Unit, and ACTU

Visits: 17




Add Review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Value for Money

3 − two =

Search Listings

Added By Ephraim Edeh


Find New Spots, Meet New People, Have fun and see Abuja City through us.