Sign In

State liaison Offices are just like embassies, they represent the interest of the state. They make it easy for citizens or indigenes of that state to process some documentation or resolve certain issues. Liaison Office means a place to act as a channel of communication between the principal place (State of Origin) and the citizen.

– Definition

About State

Benue State is one of the North Central states in Nigeria with a population of about 4,253,641 in 2006 census. The state was created in 1976 among the 7 states created at that time.The state derives its name from the Benue River which is the second largest river in Nigeria.

Historical Background

Following the amalgamation of Nigeria by British, the present geographical entity now known as Benue State was known as Benue province until 1918 before adopting its name from one of the dominant geographical feature, the River Benue.

Nigeria was divided into four regions namely:

  1. West,
  2. North,
  3. East, and
  4. Middlebelt

On the 5th of May, 1967, the structure of the federation of Nigeria was divided into twelve (12) administrative states by (then) General Yakubu Gowon military administration namely:

  1. North-Western State,
  2. North-Eastern state,
  3. Kano State,
  4. North-Central State,
  5. Benue-Plateau State,
  6. Kwara State,
  7. Western State,
  8. Lagos State,
  9. Mid-Western State,
  10. A Rivers State,
  11. A South-Eastern State, and
  12. An East-Central State

Benue was merged together as Benue-Plateau State.

In another restructure on the 3rd of February, 1976; Benue State was created out of the defunct Benue-Plateau as an administrative unit among the Seven States created by the Military Administration headed by Late General Murtala Murtala Mohammed which increases the number of Nigeria States from Twelve (12) to Nineteen (19).

In yet another restructure of the Federal Republic of Nigeria in 1991, part of Benue State, the Igala segment that was made up of Ankpa, Idah, Ayangba and Dekina Local Government Areas carved out merging with part of Kwara State creating Kogi State.

Presently, Benue State has Twenty Three Local Government Areas.


Governor Samuel Ortom

Executive Governor of Benue State

Visits: 101




Add Review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Value for Money

20 + fifteen =

Search Listings

Added By Ephraim Edeh


Find New Spots, Meet New People, Have fun and see Abuja City through us.